Structure and Management

ITC is headed by an Executive Director who reports to the Secretary General of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the Director General of the World Trade Organization (WTO). The Senior Management Committee is made up of executive officers and directors of ITC’s four divisions.

    ITC's Executive Director


    Pamela Coke-Hamilton has served as Executive Director of ITC since October 2020. Ms. Coke-Hamilton has a breadth of experience and expertise in trade-related capacity-building and sustainable development. She has a deep understanding of the challenges faced by vulnerable economies such as the small island developing states and least developed countries. Ms. Coke-Hamilton has worked extensively with the private sector and academia across African, Caribbean and Pacific countries to build trade-related institutional strength within member States. She also established the Women Empowered through Export (WeXport) platform to address the disadvantages that women-owned firms experience in accessing markets.

    ITC’s Deputy Executive Director

    Dorothy Tembo
    Dorothy Tembo
    ©Antoine Tardy/ITC

    Dorothy Tembo has served as Deputy Executive Director of ITC since June 2014. Prior to ITC, Ms. Tembo spearheaded the relaunch of the Enhanced Integrated Framework Programme (EIF), which supports least developed countries (LDCs) in addressing their trade-related technical assistance needs and supply side constraints. One of Ms. Tembo’s key responsibilities at the Ministry of Commerce, Trade and Industry of Zambia was to lead the Zambian technical team in its capacity as LDC co-ordinator during the WTO’s Hong Kong ministerial meeting which, among other issues, took decisions to extend duty- and quota-free market access to LDCs.

    ITC’s Divisions

    Ashish Shah
    Mr. Ashish Shah

    The Division of Country Programmes (DCP) is responsible for country intelligence, country needs assessments, in-country resource mobilization, partnerships, coordination and project management of large multi-disciplinary projects. 

    It also houses the Project Design Taskforce, ITC’s Innovation Lab, ITC’s Poor Communities and Trade Unit and ITC’s work around vulnerable migration and forced displacement


    Director: Mr. Ashish Shah

    Ashish Shah has been working at ITC for 21 years in different capacities. He brings almost 30 years of experience in the field of trade promotion and development, particularly in Africa, Asia and the Arab Region. He has extensive knowledge of operations and strategic planning, resource mobilization, project design and management, client management and negotiations.

    Anders Aeroe
    Mr. Anders Aeroe

    The Division of Enterprises and Institutions (DEI) works to connect micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs) to international value chains, strengthen business support organizations and related ecosystems, and promote and mainstream inclusive and green trade. DEI focuses on innovative and inclusive market-driven approaches to strengthen the international competitiveness of  micro, small and medium-sized enterprises from developing countries and economies in transition.


    Director: Mr. Anders Aeroe

    Anders Aeroe joined ITC in 2007 and has been Director of the Division of Enterprises and Institutions of ITC since November 2016. Mr Aeroe’s area of expertise is on the nexus of trade development at enterprise, institutional and policy levels, trade intelligence, competitiveness, sector and value chain development, and industrial transformation.

    Rajesh Aggarwal
    Rajesh Aggarwal

    The Division of Market Development (DMD) provides technical assistance to public and private sectors to build conducive, inclusive and sustainable business environments for greater trade and investment. Inclusion of business perspectives in trade development strategies, international trade and investment negotiations and the design and implementation of domestic policy and regulatory reforms are the hallmark of our assistance. The Division provides leadership on micro, small and medium-sized enterprise competitiveness, delivering competitive intelligence and transparency in trade services, and addresses obstacles to international trade and investment.


    Officer in Charge Director: Mr. Rajesh Aggarwal

    Rajesh Aggarwal joined ITC in 2006 and has actively contributed to building conducive business environments in developing countries by promoting micro, small and medium-sized enterprises interests in multilateral, regional, bilateral trade negotiations and national policy and regulatory reforms, including the implementation of trade facilitation and compliance with international standards and technical regulations.

    Gerry Lynch
    Gerry Lynch

    The Division of Programme Support (DPS) is responsible for assisting the programme management of ITC in ensuring the efficient and effective management and utilization of human, financial, IT and other resources required to implement the ITC programme of work. DPS manages ITC’s administrative, legal and logistical support.


    Director: Mr. Gerry Lynch

    Gerry Lynch was appointed as Director for Programme Support in May 2015 after serving for seven years as Chief, Information Technology & Systems. Mr Lynch has enjoyed an extensive career with the United Nations in various capacities and duty stations, including Lebanon, former Yugoslavia, Iraq, the Central African Republic, East Timor, Sierra Leone and Kosovo.